Tags

, , , , ,

and still I rise

Poet Maya Angelou died this past week. I am so grateful for the full life she lived and all the fabulous poetry she wrote. She was so much more than a poet, but I really love her poetry. She turned tragedy into inspiration. She found light in darkness. If I could inspire one person as much as she inspired me my life would be a success. Actually, I already consider my life a success. When I lay in bed for days with my migraines I have a lot of time to do nothing but reflect on things. I haven’t had one huge successful career, but I have had a number of professional sojourns that I consider successful. And I don’t think I’m finished yet. I have a few book ideas percolating in my head while I try to meditate. Also, I have been married for 20 years to a fabulous man, and we are not done yet, either. I am so looking forward to our adventures this summer. My 2 boys are nearly, sometimes, young men. This birthday greeting was for my older son’s 19th birthday. He is meeting with some successes lately that give me hope for his path. The decoration around the card is from the architectural details inside the Wisconsin Conservatory of Music. We attended a concert there and saw the growth of my younger son’s friends and previous classmates. Oh, and I have made some art. I hope that somewhere in all of this I have provided more light than darkness in the world.

wire hanger

I made some adorable little wire hangers for a collage and made an extra one for here. I love getting ideas from all kinds of art and craft books. My color meditation collage is progressing nicely.

collaged circles

This layout was inspired by the book Art Journal Freedom by Dina Wakley. I am very happy with the way it turned out. Have a beautiful day.

