Tags

, , , , , , ,

My intention for 2015 is to increase my kindness in my communication. I have been doing a lot of reflecting on my intentions for 2015 in the last 10 days. In the process of reflection I have created this mandala.

intention mandala 1 1 2015

I have been looking through a few different blogs that have challenges that I intend to follow this year to aid me in keeping to my intention.

http://kindnessblog.com/

My good blogging friend http://suzjones.wordpress.com/ has been a guest blogger on the kindness blog. The idea of making a commitment to speaking kindly really resonated with me. In discussing my struggles with this commitment with my husband I discovered that one thing I can do is to communicate what I am grateful for to the people I am grateful for. This may seem obvious to you, but it was kind of an aha moment for me. One of the greatest struggles I have with speaking kindly, other than the whole humanity thing, is the ever present migraines that I have. I always feel a little bit crappy at best and that tends to make me feel crabby. The introspection on this topic has led me to the awareness that as a consequence of feeling crabby and crappy, I don’t communicate very much with my friends and family in fear of being a whiner and being too negative. So I don’t say much of anything at all.

Here comes the TaDa:

I have been keeping track of things everyday that I am grateful for and I take time to illustrate them in my art journals. Then I take the time to blog about them and share them with all of you. How have I been doing on sharing them with the people who are directly involved? Not so hot. Well, here is one area of kind communication that I intend to improve upon! I will keep you updated on how this plays out.

This year I plan to step back from teaching art and/or gratitude workshops and focus more on making art and blogging. That has led me to the other 2 websites that were part of the introspection process. The first is http://collagediva.typepad.com She is hosting a 100 mandala challenge that I plan to take part in and may incorporate into my gratitude journal. Also http://journal52.com/2015-week-1-pathways/ This blog is a natural support for my art journal and I am very excited about seeing how weekly prompts impact my journal. The introspection mandala is a nice synthesis of both of these paths. I’m curious to see where they take me.

I would also like to ask you a specific gratitude question each week. My question for this week is who was kind to you today or this week? Take a moment to relish that kindness and maybe even pass it on.

Happy New Year!