Tags

, , , , ,

I tend to be cross-cultural in many intentional and accidental ways and my response to the Diva’s weekly challenge is both intentional and accidental.

wabi sabi celtic knot

My intention was to create my own Celtic knot, but somewhere in the over and under and whatnot it became a tangle. (Nice play on words, right!) So I decided it was not going to be the beginning of a mandala, but rather the basis for my response to the diva challenge for this week to green it up. As an American with more than a few drops of Irish blood, I felt obliged. The knot was as I said, tangled so I looked for a pattern that would embellish the knot but that I would not get lost in. I really liked the way the tangle Tami by Hanny Waldburger moved around the corners. I tried to give it some depth with both markers and Inktense pencils, but was not happy with how that was going . So… I started adding the little black circles and I liked it! While I was working on it I was listening to Looking for Alaska by John Green and I wrote down a few quotes from the book in the design. I liked how it looked so I used the background for journaling. Not a very traditional Diva Challenge response, but a very Wabi Sabi response I think! I hope you like it and want to check out the gorgeous art by other tanglers at

iamthedivaczt