Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I cannot resist Cee’s Challenges. When I saw the Weathered Wood topic for this week I immediately thought of this photo I took in Door County Wisconsin. We have been going there most summers with different combinations of family and friends for quite a few years.  A few years ago we went in the fall for the first time and it was lovely. Door County is a peninsula (the “thumb” of Wisconsin) that divides Lake Michigan from Green Bay (it is an actual body of water, not just a football team.) The peninsula is covered with orchards, forests, farms, beaches and bluffs. It is one of my favorite places in the Midwest and now that our children are (almost) grown I hope to spend some time there with my hubby in the falls to come. There are also fabulous art class opportunities and I’m keeping my eyes open for some plein air painting ones that might work. In the meantime, it is so easy to take lots of beautiful photographs of wood in many weathered states.

door county roses

When I got to my folder of these photos I came across quite a few other weathered wood photos of all kinds! I hope you like them. I know I certainly like taking them. Speaking of which, I wonder why I took this photo of the the tree’s roots. They certainly are weathered and interesting, but I’m not sure what I had in mind!

door county bench

door county roots door county log fungus door county log on beach

Where are your favorite family memories from?