Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’m planning on entering my current gratitude journal in an art contest, but I’m having a bit of a dilemma. I would love to get some help from you.

I can only enter one photograph for the contest, but how best to capture my altered art journal in one photo? I am reposting some of my favorite pages/page spreads for you to give me some feedback about.

Liberating prayer – This page has a simplicity that I really like and it captures a little bit of my mandala process and journaling style.

liberating prayer

Candy – This page layout includes an “ABC’s of Gratitude list as well as a variety of mandalas. It also features some of the aspects of altered books that I enjoy.candy 003

Red shoe mandala – The red shoe is a metaphor for one of my best friends and I love that aspect of my gratitude journal. It is full of private meanings that resonate for me and yet are hopefully fun/interesting for the viewer as well. This page also includes a variety of mandala styles and two of my yoga stencils I made from photos I took of my yoga teacher.

red shoe mandala

Collaged Mandala – Layers of meaningful paper and fun with lettering are some of the key aspects of this selection. It also features a collaged mandala that I love and the juxtaposition of one of my basic flower mandalas on an altered book page that makes the tree photo look like an extension of the mandala to me.collaged mandala 002

Spring cleaning – The combination of painting and little mandalas with journaling in this page layout is a good example of what my gratitude journal is about. Plus I’m really happy with the way the leaves and the journaling on the painted page turned out.

spring cleaning 001

What do you think? I would love to get your feedback. Have a beautiful day.