Tags

, , , , , , ,

retreat word audition 003

I have really been enjoying the practice of “morning pages” that I have discovered on my Inspired Year Retreat with Kathryn Costa. These pages represent a couple of days of morning pages. I have been writing 2 full pages rather than 3, but I can see how that third page may be beneficial. However, the 2 pages works better with my aesthetic sensibilities. As you may gather from the use of an altered book as my journal I am very enthusiastic about reusing things. I reused the “Word Audition” worksheet as my pallet for my Flower of Life word mandala. And as the background for the markers to go through and add color to the page. Then the next day I used it to journal on both sides with different colored Sharpies. So here are the photos to show you the steps in my process:

retreat word audition 002

Morning pages day 2.

word audition flower of life mandala

Flower of Life word audition mandala.

The words are written in gel pen and don’t show up very well on the photo or this scan, but perhaps the most important words are “cleaning=sanctuary building.” This process has motivated me to really get going to transform our extra bedroom from our storage room to my studio. While “thrive” is probably my main word for the year, sanctuary building, play, art, opportunity, delight, contentment, and of course and always, gratitude.

journalHere is my morning page from day 4. I missed doing it on day 3. I’m ok with that, this isn’t something I will be really strict about, but I do find it to be a helpful way to start the day.

retreat word audition 004

Here is a closeup of how I cut and embellished my medallions from the page to make psychedelic flowers. The journal prompt for Journal 52 is psychedelic this week and that was an easy one for me.

Have a beautiful day!

875ad-6a00d8341c766153ef01b7c7ce9291970b-800wi