Tags

, , , , , ,

doodle flowers 002

A blogger friend of mine has published a book about mandalas that has inspired me to do a flower doodle that I think is developing into a different style of mandala for me. Here are my gratitude journal pages related to the flower doodle. The book is by Kathryn Costa, the host of the 100 Mandalas challenge. The book is called The Mandala Guidebook and it is great for the novice or expert mandala artist.

These pages also have to do with the Tim Holtz Ranger Distress Markers that I have been exploring. I drew with them on hot press watercolor paper and then went back with a water brush and “painted” the flowers some more. They responded very differently than they did on the collage page and I like both effects. The negative spcese behind the flowers has now called out for a mandala of leaves and greens that I plan to do in a combination of the markers and my Inktense watercolor pencils. I’m getting excited.

The L’Artiste tissue paper is from some sandals of that brand that I bought. I have been on a shoe diet for the last few years to put money toward art supplies and to rein in my shoe addition. However, last March when we packed a couple of storage/transportation pods for the move to New Jersey I packed all of my boots and almost all of my sandals in the pod in the mistaken belief that I would be reunited with my stuff by the middle of April or early May at the latest. Well, when we got news of our most recent real estate delay I felt that the universe was telling me to buy some cute sandals. So I did. Self Portrait with Sandals to come.