Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I have been working on a complicated gratitude journal page layout and I just finished it. These pages have been quite a process, like a lot of the art I have been making lately. I will post pictures of the pages in process and some mail art that I’m working on and haven’t yet completed.

love-and-mail-art-process-finished

completed page layout

love-and-mail-art-process

This has a few layers of paint and paper. The left hand page represents a lot of love and sadness the week following the election. The right hand page has a lot of mail related ephemera. Some of it is my gratitude for our ability to pay our bills. Some of it is my love for getting and sending snail mail. Some of the stamps and postmarks are important in my life. In any case there is a lot of gratitude, but I wanted it to look prettier.

love-and-mail-art-process-1

So I added some more paint. The left hand portrait is of my younger son who had a difficult week. The white on the right side was following up with the “whitewashing” idea from my process painting and some ideas I have for art with a complex yet subtle background. I am practicing some more with the mail art project that you will see momentarily. I did some journaling on the white with colored pencils, but it isn’t very visible. Even less so when I put the mandala on it.

mail-art

mail art step 1

mail-art-1

Mail art step 2 – I let the under-painting dry completely for this one.

mail-art-mandala

I put a mandala on it. I plan to cut this into pieces to make a mail art series.

I hope you have a beautiful day.