Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Today we celebrated the Solstice by going to the Museum of Modern Art in New York City. This has been something I have wanted to do this since we started planning our move to New Jersey in March. This first painting I did not capture the name of the artist, but it seems to capture the spirit of Solstice.

light

Of course this is Van Gogh’s  more familiar depiction of light.

vangogh

The textures and colors of this painting are really wonderful to see in person. Here is a close up and a different perspective.

vangogh-closeup

vangogh-side-view

Here is an overview of some you may or may not know.

Cubism 101

 

This room was full of colors and textures that I really loved. This is the room that the light painting that I opened up the post with was in.

I discovered 2 new favorite artists! Jasper Johns and Robert Rauschenberg. They incorporate color and texture in ways I aspire to and really created some fantastic pieces!

I have a lot more to share, but I am totally worn out for tonight. I hope you enjoy this introduction to MoMA!

p.s. We got a membership cause we are definitely coming back!