Tags

, , , ,

valentines-day

The still life was started as a project from The Creative Edge by Mary Todd Beam. However, I had to turn the book to the library after drawing an imagined still life and covering it with a gel medium. It was interesting to see how the paint worked on top of the medium, but I don’t remember what was really supposed to happen. Still lifes aren’t really my thing, but I wanted to try this process and it made an interesting journal page. I’m not doing a great job of journaling these days. You can see this 2 page layout covers February 5-14! I hope you had a wonderful Valentine’s Day. Mine was nice. My husband and I both prefer discount Valentine’s candy for our anniversary on February 26th! The red and white paper hearts came from the envelope of the card that my mother in law sent for Valentine’s Day. She is so good about sending thoughtful things for holidays. I texted both of my boys to wish them a happy day!

Mandala 33 was an experiment with colors. I used my Caran d’Ache Neocolor II Artists’ Crayons, Derwent Inktense watercolor pencils and Ranger Distress Markers to color in the various layers of the color wheel. It was a good activity to compare the variety of colors and how they blend. I wasn’t super patient about letting things dry so some unplanned mixing happened, too. I’m enjoying this new gratitude journal. The paper is fun to play on and it can get really wet and still hold up nicely.

I hope you have a beautiful day.